divination / poésie / CAROLINE series
.

author Jérôme Joy
in collaboration with Caroline Bouissou

– Silence Radio

Series of radio plays

© Silence radio

Caroline in silence
6’11
Caroline went discreetly to Silence Radio in Brussels. She talks about this impromptu interview in the fog, in front of the recorder. Her voice slips away, whispers and responds to the deafness that invades her and us. Her voice has been recognised: identification of a voice in homage to Michelangelo Antonioni.
listen on Silence Radio

Caroline Boréale
5’11
It is dark, a dark night, and it is cold, very cold.
The night is more intense and the cold is more intense too. Caroline keeps us attentive to the aurora borealis and the little coloured fantasies she encountered when she lived in Iceland. The air around us becomes coloured, undulating and vibrating.
listen on Silence Radio

Caroline’s essays
9’52
But what is Caroline trying to do?
Caroline records herself, calmly, with a cold, accumulates her attempts, finds herself tangled up among phonographies that make her feel even colder. Caroline is not in a hurry and does not spread herself: she is off-screen. She announces the passing of time and builds with us the memory of this past time.
listen on Silence Radio

the composer: Jérôme Joy
Jérôme Joy’s artistic approach is based on a conception and practice of live composition, i.e. sound and musical exploration, in-tempo and in-situ, in concert (between composition, improvisation and comprovisation), using computer, electroacoustic and telematic instrumental configurations. His performances and works improvised and composed on computer – becoming an instrument in its own right -, by playing on materials, densities and intensities, produce moments of sonic immersion and listening experience over generally quite long durations, conducive to electronic and acoustic intermingling.

Thus the questions linked to “auditoriums”, places, spaces and moments of listening, as devices of perception, attention and immersion, are continuous in his work: making music is “making listening”, whatever the listening spaces, supports and devices (he thus speaks of “extended music”).

Between live and recorded electronic sounds and performed and distorted instrumental sounds, between concert devices and programmed systems, between social, popular and learned music, and all at once, his works do not play on any explicit principle and explore the relationships between techniques, technologies (both old and new), and the perception of our spaces, environments and contexts (and how these modify our experience of what makes music).
ext. wiki Jérôme Joy

https://joy.nujus.net/

divination / poésie / Série CAROLINE
.

auteur Jérôme Joy
avec Caroline Bouissou

– Silence Radio

Série de pièces radiophoniques
© Silence radio
Caroline en silence
6’11
Caroline s’est rendue discrètement à  Silence Radio à  Bruxelles. Elle parle de cette entrevue impromptue dans le brouillard face à celui qui enregistre. Sa voix s’éclipse, chuchote et répond à  la surdité qui l’envahit et nous envahit. Sa voix l’à – bas a été reconnue: identification d’une voix en hommage à  Michelangelo Antonioni.
écouter sur Silence Radio

Caroline Boréale
5’11
Il fait noir, nuit noire, et il fait froid, très froid.
La nuit est plus intense et le froid est plus intense aussi. Caroline nous tient en attention face à  l’aurore boréale et ses petits fantasmes en couleur qu’elle a rencontrés lorsqu’elle vivait en Islande. L’air autour de nous se colore, ondule et vibre.
écouter sur Silence Radio

Les essais de Caroline
9’52
Mais qu’est-ce qu’elle essaie, Caroline?
Caroline s’enregistre, calmement, enrhumée, cumule ses essais, se retrouve emmêlée parmi des phonographies qui l’enrhument de plus belle. Caroline n’est pas pressée et ne s’épand pas : elle est hors-champ. Elle annonce le temps qui passe et construit avec nous la mémoire de ce temps passé.
écouter sur Silence Radio

le compositeur : Jérôme Joy
L’ensemble de sa démarche artistique repose sur une conception et une pratique de la composition live, c’est-à-dire l’exploration sonore et musicale, in-tempo et in-situ, en concert (entre composition, improvisation et comprovisation), à partir de configurations instrumentales informatiques, électroacoustiques et télématiques. Ses performances et œuvres improvisées et composées sur ordinateur — devenant un instrument à part entière —, en jouant sur les matières, les densités et les intensités, produisent des moments d’immersion sonore et d’expérience d’écoute sur des durées généralement assez longues, propices à des entremêlements électroniques et acoustiques.

Ainsi les questions liées aux « auditoriums », lieux, espaces et moments d’écoute, en tant que dispositifs de perception, d’attention et d’immersion, sont continuelles dans son travail : faire de la musique est « fabriquer des écoutes », quels que soient les espaces d’écoute, les supports et les dispositifs (il parle ainsi de « musique étendue »).

Entre sons électroniques live et enregistrés et sons instrumentaux performés et déformés, entre dispositif de concert et systèmes programmés, entre musique sociale, populaire et savante, et tout à la fois, ses œuvres ne jouent d’aucun principe explicite et explorent les relations entre techniques, technologies (autant les anciennes que les plus récentes), et la perception de nos espaces, environnements et contextes (et en quoi ceux-ci modifient notre expérience de ce qui fait musique).
ext. wiki Jérôme Joy

https://joy.nujus.net/